Shaminda Eranga's bowling action cleared by ICC

By Staff Writers | July 18, 2017

Photo
Shaminda Eranga underwent a re-assessment of his bowling action at the ICC accredited testing centre in Chennai recently. © AFP

Shaminda Eranga's bowling action has been found to be legal and he can now resume bowling in international cricket, the International Cricket Council (ICC) today confirmed.
 
"Eranga underwent a re-assessment of his bowling action at the ICC accredited testing centre in Chennai, with the assessment concluding the amount of elbow extension in his standard deliveries was within the 15-degree level of tolerance permitted under the ICC Regulations for the Review of Bowlers Reported with Suspected Illegal Bowling Actions," the ICC said in a statement.
 
"The umpires are still at liberty to report Eranga in the future if they believe he is displaying a suspect action or that he is not reproducing the action that has been declared legal during this assessment. To assist the umpires in this respect, they have been provided with images and video footage of the bowler's legal bowling action."

Before rectifying his action, an independent assessment found Eranga's bowling action to be illegal after he was first reported by umpires in May 2016, during the second Test between Sri Lanka and England at Chester-le-Street.

© Island Cricket

Comments

Adeesha R.'s picture

Good news! We need an experienced fast bowler to replace Lakmal! India series begins on 26th July....

Anonymous's picture

Eranga is useless!!!

Post new comment

Note
All anonymous comments are moderated.
  • Avoid abusive remarks and personal attacks.
  • Avoid posting unrelated links.
  • Avoid vulgar or obscene language.
Already a member? Log-in now. Not a member? Sign up for a new account.
CAPTCHA
This step helps us prevent automated submissions from spammers.