Ranatunga with previous World Cup winning captains

Arjuna Ranatunga

Imran Khan, Arjuna Ranatunga, Kapil Dev and Vivian Richards pose with the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 trophy in New Delhi on December 9, 2010 during an ICC promo for the upcoming World Cup. India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka jointly host the 10th ICC Cricket World Cup from February 19 to April 2, 2011. AFP PHOTO/RAVEENDRAN.

You may not copy, reproduce, modify, transmit, publish, display or in any way commercially exploit any of the content of this section without the prior written consent of Agence France-Presse.


Zaharan's picture
Member since:
25 May 2010
Last activity:
6 years 44 weeks

Superb pictures...

When the topic is about a cricketer who could change a game single-handedly then these 04 greats will top that list.

Nice to see them together on one stage!

delan82's picture
Member since:
18 October 2009
Last activity:
5 hours 11 min

I agree brillant photo of all these legends of the game.

But I don't think Viv ever captained a side to a World Cup win. CLive Lloyd was captain in 75 and 79.

He captained the 87 World Cup, but Border's Aussie won that.



Hilal's picture
Member since:
20 November 2008
Last activity:
3 min 12 sec

@deln82: Right on. Perhaps Lloyd is busy with the upcoming WC preparations so they sent Viv instead?

Sujan's picture
Member since:
27 December 2008
Last activity:
1 week 1 day

I have the video of Arjuna speaking in this function... I shall post tomo..

Post new comment

All anonymous comments are moderated.
  • Avoid abusive remarks and personal attacks.
  • Avoid posting unrelated links.
  • Avoid vulgar or obscene language.
Already a member? Log-in now. Not a member? Sign up for a new account.
This step helps us prevent automated submissions from spammers.
2 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.