Best SL ODI XI, 15 member squad and players who should be closely monitored for next World Cup

Some blog posts contain unedited fan-submitted content — Create an account to start your own blog

Playing XI

1. Dhanuska Gunathilaka
2. Dhanajaya De Silva
3. Kusal Mendis
4. Anjelo Mathews
5. Kusal Perera
6. Asela Gunaratna
7. Milinda Sririwardena
8. Dasun Shanaka
9. Akila Dhananjaya
10. Dusmantha Chameera
11. Nuwan Pradeep.

In this playing XI 9 players can bowl.

Others in the squad

12. Lahiru Kumara
13. Amila Aponsu
14. Lahiru Thirimanne
15. Vishwa Fernando

Others we need to have closely monitored

16. Dilshan Munaweera
17. Sadeera Samarawickrama
18. Charith Asalanka
19. Suranga Lakmal
20. Thisara Perera
21. Kithuruwan Vithanage
22. Jehan Daniel
23. Jeffrey Vandersay
24. Upul Tharanga
25. Seekuge Prassanna
26. Niroshan Dickwella
27. Wanidu Hasaranga
28. Avishka Fernando
29. Chamara Kapugedara
30. Vishva Chathuranga
31. Nipun Ransika 




Rajeevah's picture
Member since:
17 April 2016
Last activity:
3 weeks 2 days

ODI XI and the best squad;

1. D Gunathilaka/ D de Silva/ N Dickwella
2. U Tharanga (c)
3. K Mendis
4. L Thirimanne/ K Perera
5. A Mathews
6. A Gunaratne/ K Perera
7. M Sriwardene/ A Gunaratne
8. A Dhananjaya
9. D Chameera/ V Fernando/ D Perera/ M Pushpakumara
10. L Malinga
11. N Pradeep

12. D de Silva
13. N Dickwella
14. K Perera
15. V Fernando
16. D Perera
17. M Pushpakumara


1. C Asalanka
2. S Samarawickrama
3. S Lakmal
4. K Vithanage
5. J Vandersay
6. C Kapugedera

Rajeevah's picture
Member since:
17 April 2016
Last activity:
3 weeks 2 days

Ideal T20's XI;

1. D Gunathilaka/ K Perera
2. N Dickwella/ K Perera
3. D Munaweera
4. K Perera/ K Vithanage/ A Gunaratne
5. A Mathews
6. A Gunaratne/ M Sriwardene
7. M Sriwardene/ T Perera/ D Sanaka
8. S Prasanna
9. A Dananjaya
10. L Malinga
11. N Pradeep

12. K Vithanage
13. D Sanka
14. C Kapugedera
15. A Priyanjan
16. S Lakmal
17. T Perera
18. N Kulasekara

(Last edited by Rajeevah on September 9, 2017 - 15:02)
Rajeevah's picture
Member since:
17 April 2016
Last activity:
3 weeks 2 days

Test squad against Pakistan

1. D Karunaratne
2. S Samarawickrama
3. K Mendis
4. R Silva/ D Chandimal(c)
5. A Mathews
6. D Chandimal (c/wk)/ N Dickwella
7. D de Silva/ A Gunaratne
8. R Herath
9. L Sandakan
10. S Lakmal
11. N Pradeep

12. N Dickwella
13. M Pushpakumara
14. D Perera
15. D Prasad (subject to fitness)/ D Chameera
16. L Kumara
17. A Gunaratne (subject to fitness)

Suren1998's picture
Member since:
18 February 2015
Last activity:
16 hours 33 min

Its obvious Upul Tharanga is going to remain captain till the world cup, so he should be in the team.

Upul Tharanga
Niroshan Dickwella
Kusal Mendis / Dhanushka Gunathilaka
Angelo Mathews
Kusal Perera
Asela Gunaratne
Milinda Siriwardana
Akila Dhananjaya
Dhammika Prasad
Lasith Malinga
Nuwan Pradeep

By the time of the world cup, kusal mendis should be at the point where he is the leading batsman in the side, and scoring runs consistently. If however he continues to perform poorly then Gunathilaka should take his place.

If Malinga is retired before the world cup then a young bowler can take his spot. We have plenty of option like Chameera, Kumara, Fernando, Sanjaya etc.

Finally Mathews definitely needs to be promoted up the order! I cant beleive no one in SLC has made this happen yet. He is a waste coming down the order and surviving through the batting collapse. He takes time to get going and with him batting at 5 it's only going to waste deliveries at the end.

Post new comment

All anonymous comments are moderated.
  • Avoid abusive remarks and personal attacks.
  • Avoid posting unrelated links.
  • Avoid vulgar or obscene language.
Already a member? Log-in now. Not a member? Sign up for a new account.
This step helps us prevent automated submissions from spammers.