SL T20 squad for Australia series: Kusal Perera returns, Dinesh Chandimal dropped

Some blog posts contain unedited fan-submitted content — Create an account to start your own blog

Playing XI

1. Kusal Perera
2. Niroshan Dickwella
3. Sandun Weerakkody
4. Kusal Mendis
5. Anjelo Mathews
6. Thisara Perera
7. Dasun Shanaka
8. Asela Gunarathna
9. Nuwan Kulasekara
10. Lahiru Kumara
11. Lakshan Sadankan


12. Dhanajaya De Silva
13. Milinda Siriwardena
14. Suranga Lakmal
15. Nuwan Pradeep
16. Seekuge Prasssna 


SNR's picture

Are you kidding me? Might as well remove Kusal Mendis and Weerakkody and replace them with 2 more allrounders! All I see is half baked allrounders and no real batsmen at all! We are losing matches because of poor batting and not having enough normal batsmen (not a spinning allrounder).

Sunny's picture

Nice clickbait. Why not try and say that this is your preferred squad instead of attempting to make it look like an official squad?

Anonymous's picture

1. Upul Tharanga
2. Niroshan Dickwella
3. Kusal Perera
4. Kusal Mendis
5. Anjelo Mathews
6. Sekkuge Prasanna
7. Asela Gunarathna/ Milinda Siriwardana
8. Dasun Shanaka/ Thisara Perera
9. Nuwan Kulasekara
10. Dushmantha Chameera/ Suranga Lakmal
11. Lakshan Sadankan

Anonymous's picture

1Dhanushka Gunatilake / Dilshan Munaweera
2Kusal Janith Perera / Shehan Jayasuriya
3Niroshan Dickwella (WK)
4Angelo Mathews ©
5Kithruwan Vithanage
6Dasun Shanaka / Thisara Perera
7Milinda Siriwardena / Seekkuge Prasanna
8Lakshan Sadakan / Jeffry Vandersay
9Suranga Lakmal / Nuwan Pradeep / Nuwan Kulasekara
10Lahiru Kumara / Binura Fernnando
11Dushmanth Chameera / Kasun Rajitha

R Peterson's picture
Member since:
13 November 2013
Last activity:
30 weeks 1 day

I suggest the following squad;

1) Kusal Perera
2) Niroshan Dickwella
3) Kusal Mendis
4) Chamara Kapugedera
5) Angelo Mathews
6) Milinda Siriwardane
7) Dasun Shanaka
8) Thisara Perera
9) Nuwan Kulasekara
10)Binura Fernando
11)Lakshan Sandakan

Others: Seekkuge Prasanna, Asela Gunarathna, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara

Brought left arm fast bowler Binura into the side. Both Chandimal & Dhananjaya were dropped. Because, they are not T20I players.

(Last edited by R Peterson on February 4, 2017 - 12:45)
Stormy's picture
Member since:
15 January 2011
Last activity:
13 hours 42 min

I am all for giving Kusal Perera a shot at the top in t20's with Dickwela. I would drop Chandi and bring in a specialist batter in his spot. I would include Lahiru Kumara as a learning phase - what better place to bowl fast than in Oz. Sandakan is a must against Oz, they could still have scars and again, none of these younger players are going to develop from the bench. I would also recall Shanaka and have another look at him.

Rajeevah's picture
Member since:
17 April 2016
Last activity:
2 weeks 2 days

Sri Lanka Squad for Australian T20 series (considered Mathews and Malinga are not available for selection)

1. N Dickwella
2. U Tharanga (c)
3. K Mendis
4. MDKJ Perera (wk)
5. M Sriwardene
6. C Kapugedera
7. T Perera
8. S Prasanna
9. N Kulasekara
10. S Lakmal
11. L Sandakan

12. D Shanaka
13 L Kumara
14. D de Silva
15. L Madusanga
16. K Vithanage

Upul Tharanga should be considered as an opening batsman as he can score well in the opening position than middle order. He should not be considered as middle order batsman. MDKJ Perera can bat at 4/6 according to the situation. D Chandimal should be rested (dropped) for this series. Then, new comers can get a chance. SL cricket always over come in Place of Milinda Sriwardene. He should be picked as he is doing really well in domestic circuit.

Post new comment

All anonymous comments are moderated.
  • Avoid abusive remarks and personal attacks.
  • Avoid posting unrelated links.
  • Avoid vulgar or obscene language.
Already a member? Log-in now. Not a member? Sign up for a new account.
This step helps us prevent automated submissions from spammers.