ICC Champions Trophy- Sri Lanka 15 man squad

Some blog posts contain unedited fan-submitted content — Create an account to start your own blog

1.Upul Tharanga
2.Niroshan Dickwella
3.Kusal Mendis
4.Dinesh Chandimal
5.Angelo Mathews
6.Asela Gunaratne
7.Thisara Perera/Dasun Shanaka 
8.Seekuge Prasanna
9.Lasith Malinga
10.Vikum Sanjaya
11.Nuwan Kulasekera

12.Kusal Janith Perera/Sadeera Samarawickrama 
13.Danushka Gunathilaka/Dhananjaya De Silva
14.Suranga Lakmal
15.Lakshan Sandakan

Sri Lanka ODI Squad Should be-

Upul Tharanga (Captain), Niroshan Dickwella, Sadeera Samarawickrama , Danushka Gunathilake, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Mendis, Asela Gunaratne, Dinesh Chandimal, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Kulasekera, Vikum Sanjaya Bandara, Thisara Perera, Angelo Mathews, Seekkuge Prassanna, Lakshan Sandakan.
From Previous Squad
Replace Sachith Pathirana with Angelo Mathews
Replace Lahiru Kumara with Nuwan Kulasekera (More Experience better for a Big Tournament)
Replace Kusal Perea With Sadeera Samarawickrama



Dinith's picture
Member since:
9 July 2012
Last activity:
2 hours 58 sec

I think Prasanna is only suitable for T20s. We need to have a wicket taking spinner. Amila Aponso is a good option.

And in England conditions, Lakmal will be a better option than Kula.

Anonymous's picture

What about Pushpakumara? He did well against England A team. Our batsmen shakes in their boots when a good spinner, Tahir, Mehedi, Ashwin etc comes to bowl. We NEED a good spinner more than his batting. So I think drop Prasanna & go for a pure spinner who can take wickets.Look at Pushpakumara too.

Anonymous's picture


Anonymous's picture

1.Upul Tharanga
2.Niroshan Dickwella(WK)
3.Kusal Mendis
4.Dinesh Chandimal
5.Asela Gunaratne
6.Angelo Mathews (c)
7.Thisara Perera
8.Nuwan Kulasekara
9.Suranga Lakmal
10.Lakshan Sandakan
11.Lasith Malinga

12.Vikum Sanjaya
13.Dasun Shanaka
14.Chamara Kapugedara
15.Dilruwan Perera

Stormy's picture
Member since:
15 January 2011
Last activity:
1 day 20 hours

We cannot continue to play Tharanga and Chandi in the top 4 of a limited overs side. Basically the game is over before it starts! Nothing against these two but they are no longer suitable in the top order power play overs in limited overs cricket. Only one, ideally neither should be in the top 4.

Early summer expect plenty of seam and very little spin action so the odds are against us. Money on a Aus, NZ, Eng and SA quarter final.

Moorkara's picture

Can't understand Y this boy sadeera could'nt get a place in the starting 11. instead of Chandimal

Suren1998's picture
Member since:
18 February 2015
Last activity:
21 min 49 sec

Upul Tharanga
Niroshan Dickwella
Kusal Mendis
Dinesh Chandimal
Angelo Mathews
Asela Gunaratne
Thisara Perera
Nuwan Kulasekera
Suranga Lakmal
Lakshan Sandakan
Lasith Malinga

Kusal Perera
Dasun Shanaka / Seekuge Prassana
Malinda Pushpakumara
Vikum Sanjaya

Ww should spread out our reserves evenly, we shouldnt have kusal perera, Samarawickrama, Gunathilaka fighting for the same spot. The Provincial tournament currently undergoing will choose only one as a reserve, if they base it on performance, Samarawickrama will be chosen, if they base it on history and experience then kusal perera will come in. English conditions wont have much spin so Sandakan and Pushpakumara is enough. If SL wants a spinning allrounder then Prassana will be selected, he also batted well last time we went to England. If not they will use Shanaka. Sanjaya is also the reserve for the fast bowlers. If Pradeep is fit and performing well then he might come in. I think Sanjaya is a better wicket taker, but Pradeep is a better death bowler. But we have Malinga so SL may choose Sanjaya.

Hamada's picture
Member since:
4 July 2015
Last activity:
13 weeks 3 days

Chandimal never did a match winning knock.so he is not a good player.Don't add him to the squad.
Champion trophy happening in England hence we need leg spinners to the side.And we need more seaming fast bowlers.
My squad will be

1. Kusal perera
2. Dickwella
3. Sadeera samarawikrama
4. Asela gunarathna
5. Kapugedera
6. Mathews
7. Dasun shanaka
8. Thisara perera
9. Prasanna
10.vikum sanjaya
11. Chameera
12. Malinga
13. Kulasekara
14. Aponsu
15. Kusal mendis

This is the best squad.
Don't add chandimal,tharanga to the squad.
Tharanga can't play seaming ball.he always out by giving slip catches.so don't add him.same as chandimal he has the more experience,but unable to play a match winning knock.we have kusal and dickwella for wicket keeping spot.so give that place to better batsman called sadeera samarawikrama.

Opening spot goes to kusal and dicwella.because we need powerful start.

(Last edited by Hamada on April 20, 2017 - 07:41)
Anonymous's picture

lol these ostars keep kusal janith over tharanga to open in englad after a great average of 11.72 and av 70 out. kusal janith should not be even in 15 men

Anonymous's picture

My squad is this: 1.tharanga 2. K perera 3. K mendis 4. Chandimal 5. Gunarathne 6. Mathews 7. T perera 8. Kulasekara 9. Lakmal 10. Malinga 11. Sandakan 12. Gunathilke 13. Dhananjaya de silva 14. D perera 15. Vikum sanjaya

Post new comment

All anonymous comments are moderated.
  • Avoid abusive remarks and personal attacks.
  • Avoid posting unrelated links.
  • Avoid vulgar or obscene language.
Already a member? Log-in now. Not a member? Sign up for a new account.
This step helps us prevent automated submissions from spammers.