Selectors must be patient with players like Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva... Part 1

Some blog posts contain unedited fan-submitted content — Create an account to start your own blog

Dhananjaya De Sliva is a natural opening batsman and the selectors are wasting his talent by playing him at no.6 and no.7 or not even playing him.

He has an average of 25.69 in 16 International matches in which in 7 matches where he opened the batting average 49.80 with three 50s.

The selectors must be patient with Dhananjaya De Sliva as an opener and his the only player that demolished Mitchell Starc opening the batting in the tour against Australia in the ODIs and T20s.

He has the potential to be the better than Tillakaratne Dilshan. Sri Lanka did the same mistake with Tillakaratne Dilshan when he started his career where they wasted his talent for a long time at no.6 and no. 7 then when he finally started to open his average increased by 20 or 30.

Tillakaratne Dilshan is the best example as in his career he averaged 39.27 in 330 matches and his average opening at no.1 is 51.08 and at no.2 is 45.15 but when Tillakaratne Dilshan batted at no.6 and no.7 at the start of his career his average was 27.32


Mr.A's picture

I think Sanath should resign as the principal selector. He is ruining the game by idiotic selections of players like T Perera and U Tharanga. This guy does not have a proper selection policy. He doesn't have an eye to spot talent and identify people worth pursuing the long term. Apart from Sanath, SLC administration are a bunch of fools, with no clear strategy for future of SLC, just pathetic and sad. I think we will reach the plight of WI's or even worse very soon.

Anonymous's picture

The cricekt is going down the drain like the country. What happend to classy players and well groomed quality cricketers. The board seems to gather players from the jungle.

Anonymous's picture

I also believe that Dhananjaya de Silva should open the batting with Tharanaga. He is player who can play a long inning.

My ODI Team,

1.Upul Tharanga
2.Dhananjaya de Silva
3.Niroshan Dickwella
4.Kusal Mendis
5.Dinesh Chandimal
6.Anjelo Mathews
7.Asela Gunarathna

My Test Team,

1.Dimuth Karunarathna
2.Koushal Silva/Upul Tharanga
3.Kusal Mendis
4.Dinesh Chandimal
5.Anjelo Mathews
6.Asela Gunarathna
7.Dhananjaya de Silva/Lahiru Thirimanne

My T20 Team,

1.Niroshan Dickwella
2.Dhanushka Gunathilaka
3.Dilshan Munaweera/Kithruwan Vithanage
4.Asela Gunarathna
5.Chamara Kapugedera
6.Kusal Janith Perera
7.Milinda Siriwardene/Dasun Shanaka

Post new comment

All anonymous comments are moderated.
  • Avoid abusive remarks and personal attacks.
  • Avoid posting unrelated links.
  • Avoid vulgar or obscene language.
Already a member? Log-in now. Not a member? Sign up for a new account.
This step helps us prevent automated submissions from spammers.