Devans skipper Madumal takes 6 for 86

No replies
User offline. Last seen 37 weeks 5 days ago. Offline
StaffTop Contributor (click for details)
Joined: 20 Nov 2008
Runs: 6991

Battle of the Rocks ends in a draw:
Devans skipper Madumal takes 6 for 86

Chinthana WASALA in Kurunegala

Dasun Madumal, the Maliyadeva College skipper proved that he is also as good as the St. Anne’s College skipper when he captured six wickets for 86 runs at the Welagedera Stadium yesterday, marking the second six wicket haul produced at the rain hit 29th Battle of the Rocks which ended in a draw.

Earlier on the first day, the Annites’ skipper too recorded a six wicket haul causing most of the damage for the Devans in their first innings.

Madumal did not let the Annites batsmen to settle down for any big partnerships on any occasion. After the Annites’ second wicket fell at 80, within just nine runs, they lost another three wickets with Madumal being the hero.

Only C.D. Silva was able to carry on with what he did yesterday and made 42 being the top scorer for the Annites. D. O. Gunasekera tried to add more runs but had to be satisfied with 30 before being bowled out by Madumal.

A. Fernando and R. Wijesinghe tried to make an influence on the St. Anne’s College total down the batting line up and built a partnership of 21 before

Fernando was run out for 13. Wijesinghe was not out on 20.

Then the Maliyadeva openers entered the turf for their second innings but the heavy rain which started just after they came in, did not allow the Annites to bowl a single delivery.

The heavy rain filled up the outfield with so much of water, so that every cricket loving spectator was wondering whether the 17th Annual limited over match between the two teams could start on time tomorrow.

Maliyadeva skipper Dasun Madumal was named as the Man of the Match in the 29th Battle of the Rocks sponsored by the Dialog Telecom for his outstanding effort of 53 runs and six wickets.

His deputy Gayan Maneeshan won the award for the Best Batsman while their colleague Chamikara Edirisinghe was named as the best fielder. St. Anne’s College skipper Shanaka Shaninda Silva was the best bowler.

Major General W.R. Silva, a distinguished old boy of Maliyadeva College was the chief guest at the presentation ceremony.

The 17th Annual limited over match will be held today at the same venue.

(G.Manishan 60, W. Perera 54, D. Madumal 53, S. S. Silva 6-45


M. Piyasiri c. Mahawatte b.W.Perera 14
C. D. Silva run out 42
C. Kumarasinghe c. N. Karunaratne b. Madumal 19
S. S.Silva c. Madumal b. Chamikara 05
D. Gunasekera b. Madumal 30
Y. Francisco b. Madumal 00
L. Lankeshwara c. Dhanushka b. Madumal 10
L. Aranpola c. Perera b. Madumal 17
N. Rathnayeke c. Chamikara b. Madumal 10
A. Fernando run out 13
R. Wijesinghe n.o. 20
TOTAL (in 72.2 overs) 187

FALL OF WICKETS: 1-35, 2-80, 3-81, 4-85, 5-89, 6-117, 7-130, 8-143, 9-166, 10-187.

BOWLING: W. Perera 15-5-31-1,
W. K. D. Dhanushka 3-1-5-0,
P. M. Mahawatte 4-1-6-0,
G. D. Alwis 7-1-19-0,
D. D. Madumal 29.2-3-86-6,
C. Edirisinghe 13-4-33-1.

Post new comment

All anonymous comments are moderated.
  • Avoid abusive remarks and personal attacks.
  • Avoid posting unrelated links.
  • Avoid vulgar or obscene language.
Already a member? Log-in now. Not a member? Sign up for a new account.
This step helps us prevent automated submissions from spammers.