Sri Lanka School boy cricketer of the year awards 2009

1 reply [Last post]
User offline. Last seen 1 year 16 weeks ago. Offline
StaffTop Contributor (click for details)
Joined: 20 Nov 2008
Runs: 7127

Angelo Perera takes early lead

Bata-The Sunday Times Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year Contests

Welcome to the 2008/09 inter-school cricket season. Once again The Sunday Times and the Bata Shoe Company of Ceylon Limited have embarked on their annual mission to discover and duly recognise the outstanding talent in the schools arena.

At the end of count number one we find that prolific scorer from St. Peter’s College, Bambalapitiya Angelo Perera at the helm with 22 votes against his name in the Allisland Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year Contest.

In the Outstation Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of Year Contest Amith Tillekeratne of Sri Rahula College with .thirteen votes is in the lead while Aloka Priyadharshana of Moratu Vidyalaya is the second in that contest with 10 votes.

In the Most Popular International Schools’ Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year segment last years’ winner Malith Silva is alone with eleven votes to his credit.

Once again we must remind our voters that only one name should be included in each vote and that has to come in respective categories.

All island Contest

1. Angelo Perera, St. Peter’s College 22

2. Dulash Kumarasinghe, St. Anthony’s, Katugastota 20

3. AdelReyal St. Anthony’s Katugastota 13

4. Pasan Samerasekera, Wesley College 9

Outstation Contest

1. Amith Tillekeratne Sri Rahula, Kandy 13

2. Aloka Priyadharshana Moratu MV 10

3. S.Tilakaratne Karandeniya Central 8

International Schools’ Contest

1. Malith Silva Gateway International 11

The readers’ prizes go to:

1.Ms M. Vanderlaan, F 96, People’s Park, Pettah, Colombo 11.

2. D.M. Paranagama, No 197/3, Kaluwala Road, Heerassagala, Kandy.

3. G.L. Wijesinghe 578, Gohagoda Road, Katugastota.

User offline. Last seen 1 hour 42 min ago. Offline
StaffTop Contributor (click for details)
Joined: 20 Nov 2008
Runs: 22672
Angelo Perera adds another feather to his cap - Bata count IV

The honour of being selected as the first ever Bata - The Sunday Times schoolboy cricketer of the month – Sports Editor’s Choice for the month of January, has been achieved by St Peter’s skipper Angelo Perera.

The final decision made by the Sports Editor was taken into consideration after there were three main contenders namely Angelo Perera, Ananda skipper Dinesh Chandimal and Gayan Manishan of Maliyadeva.

The three players were the main contenders having completed the 1000 run mark for the season up to now. The winner Angelo Perera completed his 1000 runs in the match against Maris Stella Negombo where he made an unbeaten 155.

Dinesh Chandimal in fact was the first to achieve this feat in his match against Royal while Gayan Manishan of Maliyadeva achieved his feat in the match against De Mazenod.

Taking into account of the innings the three batsmen achieved their feat Angelo reached 1013 runs in 15 innings which included one not out and averaged 72.42, Dinesh Chandimal took 20 innings to make 1001 for an average of 50.05 and Gayan Manishan’s 1015 came from 17 innings to average 56.38. Angelo who is also the leader of the All Island Most Popular schoolboy cricketer contest was unanimously selected the player of the month.

Read on

Post new comment

All anonymous comments are moderated.
  • Avoid abusive remarks and personal attacks.
  • Avoid posting unrelated links.
  • Avoid vulgar or obscene language.
Already a member? Log-in now. Not a member? Sign up for a new account.
This step helps us prevent automated submissions from spammers.
10 + 10 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.