Hawk-Eye officials admit error in Shan Masood dismissal

1 reply [Last post]
User offline. Last seen 41 weeks 2 days ago. Offline
Top Contributor (click for details)
Joined: 28 Mar 2012
Runs: 2339

In a meeting held at the ICC office in Dubai, Hawk-Eye officials have said that a mistake was committedwhen Pakistan opener Shan Masood was given leg-before wicket in the second Test of the 3-match series in Dubai last month. It is understood that Hawk-Eye officials have accepted their mistake and told Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq and team manager Moin Khan that the projection used by their technology for the LBW decision was incorrect.

Pakistan not amused by Hawk-Eye error

The 25-year-old left-hander was rapped on the pads by a swinging yorker from Trent Boult and was given out by on-field umpire Paul Reiffel. After having a chat with his partner Younis Khan, Masood decided to review the decision. However, Hawk-Eye’s projected path showed that the ball had swung back in to hit the leg stump after pitching in front of it, instead of going on with the angle. Since it was a fast swinging delivery and not a slower one, it should’ve gone on with the angle.

Read more>>

 

Joined: 17 Dec 2011
Runs: 41208
Debating the use of DRS

"It doesn't matter if you agree with DRS or not, what does matter is that everyone should have to play by the same rules," - Shane Warne - http://www.cricket.com.au/news/decision-...

Post new comment

Note
All anonymous comments are moderated.
  • Avoid abusive remarks and personal attacks.
  • Avoid posting unrelated links.
  • Avoid vulgar or obscene language.
Already a member? Log-in now. Not a member? Sign up for a new account.
CAPTCHA
This step helps us prevent automated submissions from spammers.
17 + 3 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.