Voting closes this week for ICC People's Choice Awards 2012

Sangakkara nominated for this year's award – voting closes Aug 31
By Staff Writers | August 27, 2012

Kumar Sangakkara won the ICC People's Choice Award in 2011. © AFP
Kumar Sangakkara won the ICC People's Choice Award in 2011. © AFP

Time is running out to vote for Kumar Sangakkara in this year's ICC People's Choice Awards. Fans can visit the ICC’s official Facebook page to cast their vote for who they think should win this year’s LG People’s Choice Award.

Voting for the award closes at midnight UAE time on August 31, 2012. The winner will be announced on September 15 at the ICC Awards in Colombo.

>> Click here to vote for Kumar Sangakkara <<

The People's Choice Award this year sees two former winners nominated alongside three other international cricketing stars, in a bid to win the only award voted for by the public at the annual ICC Awards.

Those nominated include Sri Lanka's Sangakkara, India’s Sachin Tendulkar, South African duo Vernon Philander and Jacques Kallis, while England’s James Anderson makes up the quintet of nominees.

Both Sangakkara (2011) and Tendulkar (2010) have won the People’s Choice Award in the past.

“It's been an eventful year for me personally," Sangakkara said, reflecting back on the past year.

"It was great to score hundred in England in the third Test at Rose Bowl, then our first Test win against South Africa in Durban. I then scored a 1000 ODI runs in 2012 and missed out on two double centuries, when I got out on 192 and then was not out at 199 against Pakistan earlier this year.

"I am happy that I have contributed to the side and we have grown as a side. I have grown quite a bit as an individual and learnt a lot in the past year."

The nominees were picked by an elite panel of cricket experts, headed by former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd, along with Sri Lanka’s Marvan Atapattu, England’s Clare Connor, West Indies Carl Hooper and Australia’s Tom Moody.

Nominees, the ICC say, were selected using criteria set out by sponsors LG and the ICC. This dictated that the nominees should have displayed some of the attributes regarded by LG as in line with their corporate qualities such as innovation, dynamism, strength in decision-making, performing well under pressure and executing a plan to distinction.

© Island Cricket


Gavin's picture
Member since:
27 November 2009
Last activity:
2 years 43 weeks

Voted for Sanga!!

vivek's picture


Post new comment

All anonymous comments are moderated.
  • Avoid abusive remarks and personal attacks.
  • Avoid posting unrelated links.
  • Avoid vulgar or obscene language.
Already a member? Log-in now. Not a member? Sign up for a new account.
This step helps us prevent automated submissions from spammers.